Brianna Lee

Pure of heart,

pure in mind.

It is a shame you came after me,

because if I could wish for anything

it would be to grow up to be like you.

You are 16,

only 16,

and you have more poise and passion than people

twice, thrice your age.

You are talented beyond measure,

and you are kind.

Your heart is the biggest of anyone I’ve ever known,

and I swear to God I will hurt the person who breaks it.

You are a joy to people you meet,

and you are inspiring.

You are positive and strong.

You are smart,

smarter than me,

than people

twice, thrice your age.

You knew before I did that you don’t need anyone else to survive,

that you don’t need to wait around for your knight,

and that you can save yourself.

You know what you deserve,

what you want,

and you go after it,

after your dreams,

no matter how crazy they may be.

And every day,

every single day

I am lucky I was put on this earth if only to know you.

You are the light of my life,

you alone are my pride,

you bring me joy,

and you can make me laugh until only good tears are streaming down my face.

I am closer to you than I will ever be to anyone else.

You will always come before anyone else.

You are my best friend.

You have taught me so much in the short time you’ve been here,

and if I could be anything for you,

I would want to be brave.

I am glad you have learned from my mistakes,

I am glad you did not repeat them.

I am lucky that you have known what to say when I felt as if the world was crashing at my feet.

You are so, so smart and sobered for your age.

You are wise and unwavering.

You are bold and you are brave.

Your heart for God is one of your most admirable traits and I can see Christ through you

every single day.

You are one of the most beautiful people I have had the pleasure of knowing,

and as I watch you grow,

I know you are destined for greatness.

I want you to know I love you,

and that I am extremely blessed that I get to call you my sister.

Don’t ever let them get inside of your head.

Leave a Reply

