Upon Realizing

The so-called 

“demons”

I face daily

Are only 

the ones 

I created

for myself;

I find

that I

must call

myself my

own worst

enemy.

No prince

no knight

in shining

armor with

glory as

his banner

toward victory

will save 

some like 

me…

No, no

no.

I am

the hero

of my

own story. 

 

This is 

masochism at

its finest.

Your highness,

I will

not

bow down

to formal

made requirements

of pleading

of begging

of desperately

seeking sanity

self-love

strength and

dignity back

from when 

I laid

them at

the puddle

around your

two feet.

You had

the last 

laugh then.

 

Today however,

marks a

new me.

They

call me

Her Highness,

my horse

is mighty.

Positive and

pretty, they

call me

Gabby.

And I

am no

damsel in

distress.

I do

not regress

any sin

I’m not

absolved from.

For I

am the

untold,

the brave

the bold

self-saving

face-saving

princess.

Leave a Reply

