The First (Face)Time

I am having late night cravings,
For everything from chips
To pickles
To pizza and I’m remembering
Us eating ice cream at midnight
Because I couldn’t drive to Rita’s
And I remember getting mine out of the fridge and all we had was mint chocolate chip (Turkey Hill)
And then I sat down to eat some,
And you told me to hold on, because now you wanted ice cream,
And I watched you in your kitchen,
And when you came back on the screen you were scooping spoonfuls of mint chocolate chip ice-cream
Into your mouth and I asked what brand
And you said “Turkey Hill”
And you didn’t know what flavor I was eating,
Or what brand
Before then,
But if that was some type of universal sign,
Dang, babe,
We both missed it.

Leave a Reply

