That Beautiful Night; We’ll Remember the Wreck

You never grabbed my hand while
Driving.
You called it an adventure
And maybe that’s the new term
For what it’s called when soul
Once again meets body.
When boy drives a girl
Down Delsea
Past his house
Because the highway would be too quick.
When boy sings to classic rock
And his voice is beautiful.
When boy drives girl down back roads talking about
Everything and nothing.
I’m gonna get you out of your head.
If only for a night.
I’ll never forget it, Kyle.
I can’t.
I still want those late night
Long drives
And to be honest maybe with you.
Or maybe not.
Maybe I just need to splurge on gas
And go somewhere.
You never grabbed my hand while
Driving;
Instead, you took hold of my heart
And squeezed.

Leave a Reply

