Sweater Weather

I have decided that

I am willingly to let you

Undress me with

more than your eyes

If it means that by morning,

I can wake up in your Oxfords,

bare legs and bed head,

only to have you rush forward,

fingers fumbling to unbutton,

as our lips crash;

your hands aggressively roam flesh,

and you say I look the best

when I’m drenched in oblivion.

When morning breaks,

I will slide out of bed,

as the early sun shines in,

I will tiptoe downstairs and out the front door.

I’m leaving your house,

with swollen lips,

and a slouchy cardigan,

concealing my outfit from the day before.

This walk of shame

suddenly becomes a runway.

Sweetheart,

we both know I wear you better anyway.

Leave a Reply

