Off the Backboard

She tells me
that I
need a rebound.
That in order to
stop obsessing about
him,
I need a hot guy
to kiss.

And I wonder
if she’ll be satisfied
when I join with someone else
in the meeting of our lips.
And I wonder
if I will be bothered
that nothing more
will come of it.

She tells me
that I
need a rebound
in order to
get over him.
That though I say
I will wait,
I really do
need to get laid.

And I wonder
if she’ll be satisfied
when I meet with someone else
in the joining of our hips.
And I wonder
if in that moment,
though I said I wouldn’t
I might finally give in.

She tells me
I need a rebound.
But the only thing
I really need
is to bounce back
not into anyone’s willingly hands,
but to me;
to know that,
without him,
without them,
I can truly and
fully
be happy.

Leave a Reply

