Fallout: Response to “Louder than a Bomb”

He said,
“I want you to take it down.”
Not:
I feel guilty“.

He did not admit
that he loved seeing his name,
just not as an
atrophy.

So instead,
I will scream yours,
darling,
because he has
you believing
you have tarnished grace.

I, unlike her, will not
say your name.
I will not give credit
to the man that made her
Hiroshima,
Nagasaki,
FALLOUT;
nuclear waste-
land.

When she is America.

Your project Manhattan
is to let panties drop
instead of bombs
and claim you are left
with the ache.

I, sir, do believe
it is time you are shown
with distaste.

You preach:
censorship,
like your second language is not poetry
just flattery;
yet, you don’t find it
in your “caring” soul
to let girls like us know the difference.

Whether your name begins with a
J
or an
E,
I know you.

You like to have girls like us
be put on parade,
but we are only sharing your float.
You call us pretty,
and you gloat,
you’re on to the next one.

Confetti falls on your head,
just as easily as her name
falls from your lips
as your bodies fell
into mattress.

boom.

First one.

You don’t let her know
that love and entanglement
suffer from language barrier
as you climb into iron clad shelter,
leaving her in the blast—

boom.

Second one.

But you called her
“pathetic”;
tricked her into thinking her catharsis was
weakness.

Sweetheart,
I will not say your name.

But you want to know something?
Kiana.

Two syllables;
you break off the second half;
sometimes speaking truth requires two
breaths,
requires courage,
a trait which I do believe you lack.

Because,
men like you,
they like it when their women
deflate.
Like it when they aren’t left with pain.
Never think what would happen
when she retaliates.

But,
you started this war.

You say her friends and people talk
about her?
Fine;
listen as I speak

You will never
deserve a woman
with her strength.

I hope your guilt strangles you.

I hope your shame pummels you.

I hope to God, you ache.

Because,
Kiana,
deserves to have her name said,
deserves to have her words read,
deserves to have no censorship,
especially if it distorts
the false perfection
that you try to portray.

“This is how the world ends:
not with a bang,
but a whimper.”

I hope the silence
swallows you.

I will never say your name.

 

One thought on “Fallout: Response to “Louder than a Bomb”

Leave a Reply

