Measurements

I want you to have the puddles.
The moments I am melting like
vanilla bean ice cream,
watermelon Popsicle
on your tongue.

I want you to have the flashing lights,
the Zippo flipped spark
when passion arises
in my overgrown eyes.

I want you to have the sediment,
the mountain ranges covered with past
imprints of lovers who made the climb
and willingly took the fall.

I want you to have the sand beneath our feet,
and the waves that made us clean.

I want you to have the messy
and the pretty.

I want you to breathe easy.
I want you to shelter your heart

Under my umbrella,
under the awning,
this safe haven
of we.

All I ask in return
is that you love
every ounce
of me
and the potential
of what
you and I
could be.

Leave a Reply

