Exodus

When I was younger
I would watch the raindrops
sprint down the window,
leaving watermarked trails
in their mass exodus.

They were running from chariots,
they were running from pharaohs,
they were running for fear
that once they stopped
they’d be swept up.

Ocean
raised, walls of
waves mounted
fish and whales caught in
freeze frame.
Muddied footprints
and the power of
Elohim.

Gracious
grace.

Sometimes,
I see chariots of fire
over my shoulder
and I don’t know if
they are coming to capture
or carry me away,
bound for
clouds and not shackles.

Sometimes,
I fear that no one is chasing
after me.
Sometimes,
I think it’d be best
to wait for the pharaohs.
Sometimes, I fear my feet
will catch up with me.

I’ve learned
that their are many names
many faces for
demons,
both inner and
outer.

So,
call me a coward;
regardless,
restless,
I’m still running.

2 thoughts on “Exodus

Leave a Reply

