Because I “Rush” Things

It seems like every time
I kiss someone new,
lightning strikes.

This is no metaphor;
and no, I’m not playing with words 
either.

But when the sky is illuminated with
sexual tension,
the rumble of thunder
and lightning caressing,

I have begun to wonder
if it’s because there’s
no spark.

Love is not 
two people sitting
in a parked car,
kissing in the dark.

I keep playing Cupid
with myself,
yet I never
get hit
in the heart. 

It’s true what they say:
“Kissing in the rain”
has become a cliche. 

One thought on “Because I “Rush” Things

Leave a Reply

