You Are the Only Feasible Partner

 

Dance one last time with me.
I’m not saying,
“Fall back in love with me.”
I’m saying let me fit myself against you
so that the sound
and rhyme won’t go to waste
on some body
who doesn’t have an ounce of good music taste.

I’m saying put your 
hands on my hips
and remember how I dip.

I’m saying
let’s a speak in language of physicality
and have no words escape our lips. 

I’m saying slide across from me.
I’m saying sway to the side with me.
I’m saying let’s clap in time together
one last time.

Let’s pretend everything’s alright
until we are sweat-covered and
heady.

Let’s make music together
one last time,
but only with our bodies.

One thought on “You Are the Only Feasible Partner

Leave a Reply

