God, I want to.

It is me saying,
“Hey, I miss you”
when I really mean
“Hey, I love you”
when I thought about kissing you
yesterday because I have missed someone enjoying the feel
of my nails on their neck.

“Hey, what are you up to?”
Hey, I love you.
God, I want to love you.
And I am holding you close because
I know I have to let you go,
but I’m so so selfish,
so cling to me.
Don’t let go until I’m the one
pulling away.

“Hey, thank God for you.”
Hey, I love you.
I want to love you.

But I can’t give you what you deserve,
and I am certainly not what you need.

“Hey,
I (wish I could)
love you.”

Leave a Reply

